IVF Consult Day!

Today was the day.  We met with my RE this morning to discuss our options.  The options are donor sperm or IVF. I think we’ll start with IVF and go from there.  

He didn’t say anything that I wasn’t expecting.  I already had a good understanding of the process from doing my own research.  I was very happy to find out that because of my age (28), our success rate per cycle should be more like 60%, as opposed to the 30-40% that I had seen online.

The only thing that I wasn’t anticipating was the total cost.  On their website it said $6000 for 2 cycles.  That sounded like a steal compared to the national average.  But I didn’t realize this cost didn’t include the drugs and ultrasounds.  That brings our initial total up to about $9000.  Eeek. Thank god for my husband’s parents, who are going to pitch in.  My mother-in-law wants a grandchild, and I think she’ll do just about whatever it takes to get one.  

Now I have to wait for my period to start, and give them a call.  I’ll take BCP for a month, and then I’ll start the heavy-duty drugs.  I’m a little overwhelmed by the amount of meds, needles, ultrasounds, and appointments in my future,  but I need to suck it up, and know that it will be so worth it.   I’m getting a little teary just thinking about the possibilities…

 

 

Leave a Reply

