I’m feeling totally zen and shit!

I finally took some of my infertile friends’ advice, and tried acupuncture!  

I’d been thinking about it for a little bit, several people I spoke to swore by it, and then I found a rave review of a local place that seemed really affordable, so I figured, let’s do it. 

The acupuncturist was a really nice guy, very interested in all my medical/cycle/infertility issues.  He asked very specific, relevant questions, so it seemed like he’d worked with crazy bitches going through IVF before.  Good.  

I’m not the kind of person who can fall asleep easily, or who ever feels relaxed when you’re supposed to feel relaxed.  Massages are just okay.  When I know I have to sit still I get crazy fidgety, and everything starts to itch.  

Today, miraculously, I did start to feel tired!  After I scratched my imaginary itchies for the first 15 minutes, and knocked a few needles out of place, I actually dozed off for the last few minutes.   

He suggested 1-2 sessions a week for 4-6 weeks, or at least the duration of this IVF cycle.  I’m really looking forward to just taking care of myself for awhile.  I’ve cut myself off from some extracurricular music/recording activities I usually participate in.  I turned down taking on a grad student for work this fall.  I’m saying NO to any unnecessary stress or obligations.  

And it feels good.

8 thoughts on “I’m feeling totally zen and shit!

  1. I’m currently doing acupuncture in my town. There is a place that actually specializes in Fertility Acupuncture. It’s a little expensive but well worth it. I know of two of my friends who used their service and have gotten pregnant. Besides, I like that they plug me up and then let me rest. Therefore, I have no excuses but to take a nap. No laundry, dusting, or any other shit that needs to be done. 🙂 Good luck to you.

    • Hello there! I had no idea until these past few days that acupuncture is used extensively for fertility purposes. When everyone suggested acupuncture, I thought it was to reduce stress, etc. I don’t think this guy specializes in fertility per se, but I’ll give him a chance this cycle and see how it goes. I’ll take any help I can get!
      We deserve some relaxation don’t we? 🙂

  2. Yay! You’ll have to let me know if he has any useful insights into our messed up cycles (man it’s so great to have found a messed up cycle buddy!!). My lady tells me I have a spleen deficiency according to eastern medicine & I need to eat lots of blood tonifying foods in order to be able to hold the blood in the womb properly. As long as I walk away in a zen like state of calm I’m happy!!!

    • Hi! He didn’t say any specifics yet. He said to call him in the next couple days and let him know how I’m feeling. So far the only thing I noticed is my knee that I messed up in a car accident 10 years ago felt a little wonky when I got up this morning. Ha.
      Your lady sounds more in-depth! Probably because it’s one-on-one. Hopefully he will make some more suggestions as we go, or I’ll look into others in the area. Blood tonifying huh? I’ll have to look that up.
      You know what irritates me the most is that my RE doesn’t even seem to care to investigate the cause of my messed up cycles. Like WTF? Wouldn’t that be helpful to them?

      • I know! Mine’s the same. He just says to me “we take over your body with the drugs so you don’t need to worry about that” erm, if you’re in charge mr wise guy, then why isn’t the success rate 100%?!?! I can post a list of them when I find them but I know it includes sardines, beet root and avocado off the top of my head!

  3. I LOVE acupuncture! I tried it for the first time in July, right before my first (and hopefully only) IVF egg retrieval. I’ve had 3 sessions so far and now I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to finally try it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

