Lotsa shots

As of today I’m officially stimming! Woop!

Instead of 10 units of Lupron, I’ve now dropped down to 5 units, in addition to 225 IU of Gonal-F pen, and 10 units of Solution X.  Not sure why my RE gives it such a mysterious name.  When I asked him what that was he said he’d tell me, but he’d have to kill me. (It’s LH.)

I was sure to ice the crap out of my injection sites tonight since I’d have 3 needles to do.  Tomorrow will be 4 as I’ll have to use what little is left from the first pen, plus more from a new one.  Sunday morning I’ll have blood work in the morning to determine if dosages need to be adjusted.  Then next week I’m assuming I’ll have lots of early ultrasounds to see how those eggs are doing.

I REALLLLLY hope my body responds to these drugs the way it should.  Please please please!  I’ve cut out all alcohol for the last 2 weeks (almost), and I’m going to attempt to ditch my morning cup of coffee and have decaf tea instead, but I’m not sure if I can.  Coffee usually helps my digestive system in the morning, and I’m afraid what will happen without it.  I’m already screwed up enough from the Lupron.  (Hi, my name is Road2ourbaby, and I’m addicted to Colace.)

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend.

13 thoughts on “Lotsa shots

  1. We must have been typing our posts at the same time! 🙂 We will be on the Doxy for 7 days…I think my doctor uses it as a preventative measure so we have it for a week leading up to the retrieval to make sure there is no bacteria? Just my assumption. One thing I’m wondering about from your protocol is that you have to use separate needles for each medicine. I mix all three into one needle. I wish you could too! I don’t see why you wouldn’t be able to? I can’t imagine 4 needles!!! Well happy sticking partner 🙂

    • That’s interesting about mixing everything together. My Gonal-F is a pen, so I can’t add anything to that. The Lupron and LH are both in vials, but I was never told to mix them. Maybe I’ll ask next week. All the needles actually weren’t that bad! I feel like I’m really in the thick of it now. The more needles, the closer I am! haha
      Good luck to you too!

  2. Im supposed to start stims in a week and have no plans to cut out coffee for the same reason you drink it, though I may try to limit myself to one cup instead of two. Strangely though so far lupron hasn’t messed up my digestive system.
    Fingers crossed!!

  3. I know the gonal is a breeze… Barely even felt it and no bruising however I did bruise with the Lupron trigger… I hope you don’t…Once your actively stimming you may be in for daily appts…I hope you respond but not too much where you hyperstim!!!

  4. That’s a whole lot of needles! How are you feeling other than being a bit backed up? Any other side effects? I should be stimming by the end of the week. Exciting stuff! (it a little terrifying!)

    • Hi lady! I’m feeling okay, although today I’ve had a RAAAGING headache all day. Aspirin didn’t help at all. The thing is I don’t know if it’s from the drugs, or because I didn’t have any coffee today since I’m trying to ditch caffeine. It’s awful! Other than that I’m all good.
      Good luck! Can’t wait to hear how everything goes for you. 🙂

      • Oh that is definitely the caffeine withdrawal headache. I don’t drink coffee but when my mum give it up she had the worst headache for 2 or 3 days but then it was ok again. Hopefully yours will ease up soon. Thank you! X

Leave a Reply

