The fate of this cycle…

Lies in tomorrow’s scan.  I talked to my RE today, after being a mess for the last 24 hours.  

He said, “You’re not really burning up the tracks, here.”  Yeah, I figured as much.  Basically he said I’m not responding very well to this protocol.  My levels have been increasing slightly, but not enough.  Tomorrow I will have a scan after 6 days of stims (2 days on 225 IU, 2 on 300 IU, 2 on 375 IU), and if it doesn’t look good, we have to throw in the towel.  We will then regroup and form a new plan.  He said there are many different protocols, of course.  Usually, given my age (28), this protocol should have worked fine, but everyone is different.  He said it’s possible that using the birth control might have screwed a bit with my hormones and set me up for failure.  Who knows. 

I warned him I’d been doing some “googling”, for which he always jokingly scolds me (“Tell your husband to turn on the child-lock feature”).  I told him that based on what I’d found regarding “poor response to IVF drugs”, I was worried about ovarian dysfunction/failure.  He said he highly doubts that is the case based on my AMH levels.  He did say we could test FSH for that in the future, but he’s really not concerned.  So that relieved me, somewhat. 

Tomorrow we will know.  We’ll either have decent follicles and keep going, or have to start all over again.  

PS- If you’re here from ICLW, welcome!  Sorry I’m so depressing this week.  Usually I’m not THIS bad.  😉

 

27 thoughts on “The fate of this cycle…

  1. Damn!

    I’m still convinced tomorrow’s going to be fine and they’ll have something to work with. If I’m totally wrong – can they switch this cycle to IUI? Or no?

    Step awaaaay from Dr. Google. If your Doc didn’t seem concerned about ovarian dysfunction then don’t be concerned with it yet.

    It’ll be fiiiiiine. I aint worried.

    • Ha! How I love you. “I ain’t worried.”

      That actually makes me feel better, just hearing the words.

      I’m not sure if they would bother with IUI? I know they do that sometimes but our male factor is so f-ing extreme that I highly doubt it would be worthwhile. I don’t know though? I wonder what happens to these partially grown follicles if we bail. Do I trigger anyway? Do they go away?

      I guess we’ll find out soon enough!

    • Ahhh thank you. Everything is stressful for me these days. I’m going to just trust my doctor, and let him do his thing. I’ll hopefully stop googling like a compulsive freak, and let him tell me what’s the next step. 🙂

  2. Happy large follicle thoughts coming your way! I hope your appointment goes well tomorrow! I’m pretty sure that they test FSH levels as one of the first things when they are trying to pinpoint the infertility issues. You might want to ask your doctor again about that. I hope everything goes well tomorrow. I will be thinking about you! 🙂

    • Thanks! I hope so. Well when I talked to my RE today he didn’t make it sound like they’d checked FSH at all. He said they did AMH, and that they could look at FSH in the future, if needed. I would think they’d test that right off the bat, too. Who knows. Good luck tonight! 🙂

  3. That must be so frustrating. I hope you managed to get some sleep and switch off last night. Sending you lots and lots of luck and growing vibes. It’s not over until it’s over. X

  4. Hi from ICLW! Best of luck on your scan tomorrow. Hoping that you have some beautiful follies!! Oh and Google ALWAYS gets the best of me. I seriously wish I could disable search before and after a big appointment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

