Retrieval is tomorrow!

Well, we’re finally here.  Sorry I’ve been slacking the last couple days.  My father-in-law finally bought a boat after months and months of our whining, and we’ve been busy cruising around lakes and rivers and trying not to crash into the dock.  On tonight’s ride we were so close we could see the mist coming up from Niagara Falls!  (Now you know where I live!  Hint: it’s not Canada.)

I triggered last night, it was a breeze.  I have NO idea why I had it stuck in my head that my trigger was intramuscular.  I think we were confusing the trigger with the PIO.  It was sub-q, just like the rest of ’em.  Duh.  Maybe I should have checked the box before I worried about it for days.  

While there are many uncomfortable and embarrassing things involved in this IVF process, by far the worst experience for me was having to buy DOUCHE BAGS at Riteaid.  Yes.  I had to douche tonight, as part of my ‘night before retrieval’ instructions.  Please tell me this is a normal part of IVF protocol, and that my clinic isn’t stuck in a timewarp.  Douches? Really?  That was a first, and hopefully a last.  I also took 2 doxycycline, and tomorrow I’ll start 4 days of Medrol.  Saturday I’ll begin my endometrin, and my nightly disposal/burning of my underwear (Per Stupid Stork).  I guess I’ll go buy stock in panty liners. 

Tomorrow at 7:45am we have to show up at the clinic, husband with fresh sample in hand, and I think I’ll be in the procedure quickly thereafter.  I REALLLY hope they get all 7 or 8 of my mature-looking eggs.  Please please please.  The doctor has projected we’ll do a 3-day transfer based on my lower number of follicles, which I’m kind of bummed about, but I understand.  I just wish I had a lot more eggs to play with.  

I’ll post tomorrow with updates!

17 thoughts on “Retrieval is tomorrow!

  1. Yesssss… YESSSS! It’s HERE! Egg retrieval and sacrificial burning of the panties!

    (Can I just say I spit soda the other day when someone commented on one of your boat pictures “I’m very aroused”? It makes me so happy when Anchorman inserts himself into my day.)

    I did not have to do a douche! You mean to tell me I have missed out on an opportunity to use that word?! What the hell?!

    You are going to have a BOMBASS NAP tomorrow. The best ever.

    I’m doing a small jig on your eggs’ behalves.

    • Ha! That was my brother-in-law. I think he deleted the comment when he realized all his mom and all her friends would see it and not quite get it. San Diaago.

      Yes. DOUCHE. I’ve been telling all my friends and snorting while talking about it. Of all the embarrassing things you can buy in a drugstore, I can now say with certainty, douche bags take the cake.

      I can’t wait to nap! And hear how many they got! Whoop!

  2. Your cycle sounds quite different from mine. My trigger for my first fresh IVF cycle was intramuscular. I did not have to douche either – this is the first post I’ve read where someone had to douche before a retrieval. I also didn’t have to start taking my doxy until after my retrieval but I started taking my endometrin beforehand.

    Can’t wait to hear how tomorrow goes! Good luck! Praying for you!

    • I knew it was weird! That’s why I made sure I mentioned it. I don’t get it either. I also don’t get why I only have to take 2 doxy for tomorrow, but when I had my mock transfer I had like a week’s worth of it.

      Thank you for the well wishes!

  3. Good luck with the retrieval! Douching was definitely not part of my protocol….and I have never heard of someone doing that before retrieval. I would be interested to hear why your doctor thinks it’s necessary!

    • Right? What the hell! Maybe I’ll ask tomorrow. I was so hesitant to use it, so I only used about half the little bottle. Honestly I thought they were dated and usually did more harm than good. Who knows!
      Thank you 🙂

  4. I don’t have to douche either!! I’m so pleased that it’s finally here, can’t wait to hear all about it. Remember, the anticipation is always worse than the reality so try not to worry too much and bring on the granny pants!

  5. Douching? So never heard of that! But just think – people have purchased weirder things…..
    My retrieval is looking to be Tuesday – so I’m only a few days behind!

Leave a Reply

