Fertilization report

Well, I’m not thrilled with the fert report but I’m trying to be optimistic. 

Out of the 8 eggs, 7 were able to be injected, 4 fertilized, although 1 was abnormal.  So that leaves us with 3 total, and 2 are high quality with the 3rd being not so good.  

The RE said he wants to do a 2-day transfer of the 2 high quality embryos, so that means tomorrow, Sunday.  I get that it’s really a numbers game, and that they normally wait those extra days to weed out the good ones.  It seems as though these are our good ones, so there’s no weeding out to do.  I understand that my body is the best incubator, but I can’t help but be slightly worried.  I rarely hear of 2-day transfers being done. 

I hope it works. 

23 thoughts on “Fertilization report

  1. You never know what can happen. The quality of my embryos didn’t sound that good but then one of them managed to outgrow the others. So although your report wasn’t exactly what you wanted to hear, good things can still happen!

    Praying for a successful transfer tomorrow!

  2. Two high quality embryos being transferred into your body tomorrow! That is SO exciting. I actually had a great experience at the transfer and it was AMAZING to watch our little embie be inserted into my uterus on the ultrasound screen. I wish you lots of luck tomorrow! No worries about the 2-day transfer. It seems to be a numbers game and your doctor believes the 2-day transfer is the best chance to give you. Trust your doctor and your little embryos! Good luck! 🙂

    • I hope so! I just wasn’t expecting the 2-day transfer, so it kinda took me by surprise. I hope they’ll give us a sono picture of the embryos once they’re in, and a blown-up one to hang on the fridge! haha

    • I guess we still have a shot over here! I have the world’s smallest bladder so I’m definitely going to pee before I leave the house, and still be filled up by the transfer. If not this could be disastrous.

  3. My hospital regularly do 2 day transfers. At our co-ordination appt the embryologist gave a talk where she said that the best place for an embryo is where it should be: in your womb. She said that the only reason that they ever go to a 5 day transfer is to help them make a clear decision on which embies to put back. As soon as they can make that decision they put them back. Don’t read too much into this. This round of IVF has been a success so far. Not only have you learned some lessons about how your body responds to the meds but you’ve also successfully grown follicles that had eggs in them and then fertilised those eggs. For a lady with a cycle as messed up as mine and a man with not much funk in his sp*nk you’ve done really, really well!! Sending you lots of positive vibes x

    • I aree with this 100%! Those babies need to go back where they belong. I would prefer a 2-day transfer, myself! Waiting 5 days is nerve-wracking and that’s not where they belong. This round has been a wonderful success – they know so much more about your body now and you still have an awesome chance that this will work. Hang in there!

      • I guess I am pretty thankful that I don’t have to wait any longer. It’s probably better for them AND my sanity that they go back in as soon as possible. Thanks for the kind words!

    • Hahaha I love this summary of my cycle. You’re absolutely right. It’s been a very enlightening experience, and we certainly overcame a very slow start. They said if I was a few years older we might have had to cancel and start over, so I’m thankful for that. It’s good to hear that a 2-day transfer is more common than I thought. It just seemed like a negative when I first heard him say it. I’m feeling more positive now that I’ve had a few hours for everything to absorb. Thank you so much 🙂

  4. We had a similar outcome with our 1st IVF cycle.

    In the end we ended up with 3 fertilized embies.

    Our RE is a big advocate for single embryo transfer, so for that May cycle, we only transferred the one. When I think of regrets that I have during this process, the only one I have is not pushing back more to have had 2 implanted at that time.

    Then again, it did give us a chance to do this round of FET and implant our two remaining embies. And you don’t know what you don’t know.

    Your cycle has been a huge success! Your eggs were fertilized and they thought chances were good enough that they implanted back into you, right where they belong.

Leave a Reply

