5w6d

So we went in for a 2nd pregnancy sonogram today.  We had our first on Saturday at 5w4d, but the sac was pretty hard to spot, and they had a hard time getting measurements.  That worried me quite a bit (of course).   Today, it had definitely grown, and showed up right away, which was such a relief.  I was literally shaking in the stirrups as the nurse went to look for it.

When the doctor came in to see us after the scan he sounded more optimistic than he did on Saturday.  He said to come back in a week for another scan, at which point we should be able to see the beginnings of a little baby in the sac. (Please please please!!!!!!) He said if we’re lucky, we might hear the heartbeat, but if not, then by the following week we should (8 weeks).

I cannot wait to get to 8 weeks.  All I want to hear is the woosh woosh sound that people always talk about.  That’s all I want.  I wish I could hit a fast forward button and be there.  This waiting is so freaking hard.

In other news, I’m happy to report that my scary spotting/bleeding has pretty much come to a halt (knock on wood!)  Since Friday I’ve barely seen anything more than light light, barely tinged spotting, if that.  SInce yesterday it’s been nothing.  It is a massive relief.  I hope I never see anything like that again.

I’m off to get ready to go meet my best friend’s baby who she welcomed via c-section this morning!  I’m so thrilled for her and her husband.  I’m also so grateful for my own sanity that this cycle worked, or all these babies that are due to be born in the next few weeks, I’m afraid, would have been bittersweet to me.

Thank you glorious IVF gods and modern medicine.  Now let’s just make it through about 34 more weeks!

13 thoughts on “5w6d

  1. Yes! I’m glad that your bleeding stopped. I’m sure it will be such a relief to hear the heartbeat, and I’m so glad that you have happy news so that you can enjoy your friends’ new babies!

  2. Happy almost 6 weeks! I’m so excited for you that you were able to see the sac at your u/s appointment. Praying that things continue to go well and that you are able to hear that happy little heartbeat soon!

Leave a Reply

