12 weeks 6 days

So I went against most of your good advice, as well as my husbands, and ordered a fetal doppler today.  Whoops!  I had practically resolved to myself that it was a bad idea, but I couldn’t shake my need.  I really wanted one.  So, I finally convinced my husband that for all the things I can’t have during pregnancy (booze, caffeine, most meds, lunch meat, sex- more on that to come), that the least he could do was allow me to order a fetal doppler for some peace of mind.

I ordered the cheapest one money can buy on Amazon, the AngelSounds brand.  For being dirt cheap, it had great reviews, so I figured, why not.  If I’m going to spend any amount of money for a shitty home doppler, it might as well be $25, and not $60.  Also, my husband was really against me spending $50+ for something that might not work, so I did what it took to convince him.

I promised my husband that I will not freak, and I will not call my doctor if I can’t find the HB.  I will try to follow through on this promise.  I’m hopeful though that since I will be 13 weeks and beyond when it gets here, that I’ll have success.  Most people that reviewed the product had no trouble finding it after 12 weeks, some were even as early as 10 and 11.  I’m thinking that as long as the product isn’t faulty, that it should do the trick.  Maybe I’ll watch some videos on Youtube.  I know to look low, near the pubic bone, so that’s where I’ll start.  If any of you mamas with dopplers have any insight, let me know.

So back to the no sex thing.  Mmmmm.  I don’t want to complain, and of course I’d do whatever it takes to keep baby safe, but this is getting a litttle old.  We are coming up on 3 months with no sex (and even worse, no orgasms for me).  Of course, I’m only 3 months pregnant, but we did have an immaculate conception, and we didn’t have any nooky for a good 2 weeks before that because I was so bloated and uncomfortable from stims.  At my 8 wk OB appointment, I had just had a major bleed the week before, so my doctor said no sex.  Last week at my 12 week appt, I freaking FORGOT to ask if the restrictions still applied.  But since I just had another decent bleed last week, I’m thinking their recommendation would not have changed.  The thing is, my subconscious knows of my predicament.  I’ve been having consistent, bizarre, vivid sex dreams, almost on a nightly basis.  Is this happening to anyone else?  I’m wondering if it’s because I just can’t have sex, or if it’s the pregnancy hormones.

In other news, I feel like I’m finally starting to pop a little bit.  My work pants that started out too big officially don’t fit.  Of course I didn’t realize that until I was wearing them as I drove to work today.  Luckily I ordered maternity stuff from Gap this weekend, so by next week I should have some clothes that fit.  Yay!

We will be going public this weekend.  Tomorrow will be 1 week since our nuchal, so unless they call us with bad news,  we’ll be telling everyone.  I have book club on Saturday with some of my good girlfriends, most of whom don’t know, so I want to tell them in person.  After that, I might post a little something on Facebook.  Four years ago my husband and I dressed up as Juno and Bleeker (a wildly successful costume btw),  so I thought maybe I’d post a picture of us from that Halloween party with a clever line about how “we pulled a Juno”, or “I’m gonna have to bust out these pants again.” If anyone has any extra witty ideas, feel free to share.

12 thoughts on “12 weeks 6 days

  1. I also got a doppler but I havent found the heartbeat consistently from what I have heard…I try to not obsess since I am not even 12 weeks yet and they say it can take up to week 14 before you can really hear it..my pants are getting snug too…I may wait till after thanksgiving to see what sales I find and we plan on announcing at thanksgiving

    • Have you heard it though? Just not on a regular basis? I’m really hoping this cheapie will work. Since I’m 13 weeks today and the thing probably won’t be here for a few more days I’m hoping it will work soon, if not right away. Fingers crossed!
      What brand did you get?
      I had a 40% off Gap coupon so I went to town! So much fun. 🙂

      • I think I did since it was 160bpm which is way too fast for my heart beating…just be careful that even if you hear something in the 130 range its your own blood pumping..I got the sonoline b doppler

  2. I’ve never been tempted to purchase a doppler until I found out last week how long I have to go before having another u/s. I can’t believe my regular OB is putting me through more tortuous waiting. We purposely scheduled the NT screening so we would be able to have another u/s before 20 weeks.

    I hear you on the no sex thing too. My RE told us to wait until 12 weeks…that will be 3.5 months without any action! And I too have had naughty dreams about it.

    • I know! The waiting is hard. The fact of the matter is, we are spoiled with the RE, and think we should keep getting weekly ultrasounds, or SOMETHING, to see/hear the baby. So if a home doppler will work, I’ll take that over nothing.

      Yeahh I’m already at 13 weeks and afraid how much longer this dry spell might last for. I’d like to be able to have sex again but at this point I’m so afraid because of the SCH. We probably won’t be doing it until I’m trying to go into labor. Haha.

    • Thanks friend! I know, now I just gotta think of a clever line. I’m glad I was looking through old pics the other day because I saw these and it was like a light bulb going off in my head. I wanted to make an announcement sans uterus pics, so this is kinda funny and different.

      • Way better sans uterus pics! Speaking of that, last year, in her Christmas card, our wedding photographer included an ultrasound pic in her photo collage as a way of announcing. This was a card sent to EVERYONE, not just family. I think that after going through infertility, I will never send a mass ultrasound photo!

  3. I missed a lot! Congrats on your pregnancy!!! I would never be able to resist getting a doppler 🙂 I’ve heard some ladies do have freak out moments, but it would so wonderful to be able to listen whenever you want. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I really don’t regret buying it. Even though I got a cheapie, somehow it works, and it’s very reassuring. Now my only concern is if I’m going to harm the baby from using it too much! haha

Leave a Reply

