Thankful

Here we are at 14 weeks, 2 days.  And things are going well.  This is probably the only public forum where I will express “thanks” today.  Mostly because you all are the only ones who know, and understand, why I’m thankful.  

I am thankful for advanced medicine, and ART.  Without it, my husband and I would be lost, and still far from pregnant.  I am so thankful that we were lucky enough for IVF to work on the first try.  I still can’t believe our good fortune.  I am thankful that the pregnancy appears to be going well, despite the bleeding scares, which are hopefully over.  I am thankful that I have an incredibly logical, smart, patient, loving husband, who talks me off the ledge every day when I’m panicking over some new and ridiculous pregnancy-related fear.  I don’t know what I would do without him.  

This last week I’ve been the happy owner of a fetal doppler.  It’s an incredibly cheap brand, AngelSounds, which was about $25 on Amazon.  The thing is, it works!  There’s been a couple times I couldn’t find the HB right away, so I’ll have my husband help, or wait an hour an try again, but so far, so good.  The HB ranges from about 150-165ish.  It’s the coolest sound to hear.  Now I wonder if it’s possible to use it too often.  I’m trying to only listen every other day, and usually I only use it for about 2 minutes, since fortunately I can usually locate it pretty quickly.  Any doppler owners have any insight?  Is there any unsafe amount of home doppler usage?  Hope not.  I don’t need one more thing to worry about.  I figure I’ll use it less once I start feeling the baby move, but that won’t be for several more weeks.  

This week brings a new symptom.  And it’s a doozy.  It started small, about a week ago, I thought I pulled a muscle in my left buttock.  Well, it’s become strong, sharper, and now the pain shoots through me every time I apply pressure to my left leg by itself, climb stairs, sit down, rotate my leg to the left, and pretty much anytime I do anything.  It’s so sharp and severe, that I literally shriek when it happens.  After a little googling, and talking to several of the physical therapists at work who’ve had kids, it appears that I’m probably dealing with sacroiliac joint pain, or posterior pelvic pain.  When I desperately asked what could be done, the PTs laughed at me and said, “Welcome to pregnancy!”  I asked if I could try ice or applying heat, and they said that might help.  I used a hot water bottle last night on my left butt/lower back (and subsequently freaked out that I was cooking the baby, did I mention I’m insane?), and it helped temporarily, but it doesn’t seem like a long-term solution.  One thing that worries me is that I seem to be getting this symptom really early.  According to Dr. Google and some of the therapists, most won’t experience it until 18 weeks and beyond, at which point it may continue to worsen throughout the pregnancy, and resolve about 3 months after pregnancy.  Ummm… I’m only 14 weeks!  I seriously hope this will lessen or subside, because I can’t imagine hobbling around like this for the rest of this pregnancy.  I don’t even have a noticeable bump yet  and I’m already waddling.  And I’m certain that this won’t get any easier to deal with as I grow and get heavier.  Ruh roh….

I hope everyone has a lovely Thanksgiving with their families and loved ones.  I made the stuffing this year, so I guess I’m an adult now.  Enjoy the day.  

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. I’m actually curious about the doppler thing myself – I purchased the same doppler and like you use it about every other day. I’m interested too to see if there are any possible harmful “side effects” of using it frequently, even though it doesn’t seem to be like there would be.
    Happy Turkey Day!

      • Yeah, I can’t find much on it online. And I didn’t ask my OBs before purchasing, so I don’t have their take on it. It seems like there aren’t enough studies to determine if it causes any harm. Some websites warned that it can make women to feel safe about a pregnancy, and not seek medical attention, when there might actually be a problem. Who knows. Hopefully as long as we aren’t using it all day everyday we’re good.

  2. Aw, I’m happy things are going so well. And you’re so right that we are incredibly lucky to live in a time when ART is so advanced. (I can only imagine what my great-grandma in the 1920’s felt like when she took 7 years to conceive!) I’m so sorry about the pain, though!

    • Thanks lady! I know, I can’t imagine the desperation women must have felt when there was literally nothing they could do, and no one they could really even talk to about it. Glad we’ll never have to know first-hand. I hope all is well with you!

  3. Oh goodie… since I’ve been following so closely in your footsteps this pregnancy, I guess this means I can expect lovely butt pain to start around 14 weeks! Hoping for both of our sakes that the PT’s are wrong and you won’t have to deal with it the whole pregnancy! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Haha. Yep, I guess this will be next for you! Sorry! I hope everything is going okay and that your pesky bleeding scares go away soon. Maybe it’s kind of a twin pregnancy thing too. I know of someone who had IVF triplets and bled the entire time. Eek. Hopefully that won’t be your case.
      Hope you had a great holiday! 🙂

  4. If you’re open to it, I highly recommend seeing a chiropractor for your pain. I see one on a semi-regular basis but now that I’m pregnant, it will become more regular. My chiro’s office recommends regular adjustments during pregnancy and says it is very healthy and helpful. Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

