36 Weeks Updates

We are 36 weeks and 1 day today.  My ‘What to Expect’ app says the baby is the size of a watermelon.  I believe it.

I had my second internal exam yesterday, and my 2nd of weekly appointments.  Last week at 35 weeks one of the young adorable female OBs did a quick internal just to get a baseline.  She said I was a fingertip dilated and slightly thinned, which surprised me.  I was expecting her to say it was long and closed.  At yesterday’s appointment one of the older, cute little old man OBs said I’m now 2.5 cm dilated and 80% effaced!  I said, “Shut up!”  Then I apologized, ha.  It seems like a lot of progress!  He said to be ready for a potentially early labor, no guarantees of course.  He said, “You know what to do if that water breaks.”  I thought to myself, ummm actually I’m not sure that I do.  I guess I’ll just call them if anything happens.  

As for my symptoms, I’m having continued minor cervical pains and pressure, and increasing BH contractions.  The more the better!

After yesterday’s appointment and with the recommendation of my doctor, I’ve decided I’m going to stop working 2 weeks prior to my due date.  May 7th is it for me!  I called my boss and the girls who are going to be covering my facilities, and put the wheels into motion.  It feels good to have a plan, since before yesterday I was just going to wing it.  Now that it feels like labor could actually occur in the next few weeks, it seems like a good idea to have a concrete plan in place. 

Last night I got all my laundry done that I’ll be packing in my hospital bag, and tonight I ran out to Target for last minute things, travel-size toiletries, warm socks, etc.  I just gotta pack it all in the bag!

It’s officially feeling real.  

4 thoughts on “36 Weeks Updates

  1. wow, it’s reassuring that you know there is some progress going on! here I won’t have any internal examination and my appointments are still every two weeks until week 40! well done for preparing the bag already 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s reassuring, but at the same time I’m afraid they’re getting my hopes up that labor could be soon, when in fact it might not still be for weeks! Now I’m going a little bit stir crazy for her to get here. Haha.

Leave a Reply

