38 Weeks, 6 days

I’m bored.  This is the first full week of maternity leave and I’m starting to lose it a little.  I know I haven’t even reached my due date yet but I am just so ready for her to be here. 

Hearing that I was already dilating and effaced at 36 weeks really messed me up, since at each appointment thereafter, there’s been NO change.  I went from thinking an early spontaneous labor was a serious possibility, to now resigning myself to the fact that I’ll probably be like so many of my FTM friends, who go 7-14 days past their due dates, requiring inductions, and I really don’t want that.

I also feel a bit of a time crunch, as 10 days after my due date is my sister’s commissioning into the army as she graduates as an ROTC officer, and has her college graduation that weekend, about 4 hours away from me.  My mother doesn’t want to miss it: she said she can only see this once, whereas she can meet the baby “anytime”.  She’d rather see that than the birth of her first grandchild.  I told her how upset it makes me, since ideally I want her in the delivery room with me, and my sister doesn’t even care if both of my parents are there.  She suggested our dad go see the graduation, and mom come here for the birth, but my mom is being a weirdo about it.  I’m trying to focus on the hope that we won’t even end up in that situation, as we still have time– 17 days, for this chick to make her appearance.   

So now I just sit here and try to keep busy.  I’ve been cleaning the house on a daily basis, I’ve already gone to the grocery store this morning, and my 39.1 week appointment isn’t until Wednesday.  I know it’ll be so different once the baby is here to keep my busy, but I already can tell it’s a good thing I’m going back to work, even on a part-time basis.  I just have to get out of the house!

I’ll keep you posted….

Leave a Reply

